AIA Continental Europe Update

In 2018, AIA Europe hosted two terrific conferences in Pristina, Kosovo, and Budapest Hungary, organized by chapter members Bard Rama, Int'l Assoc. AIA and Nora Demeter,  Int'l Assoc. AIA, respectively. 

 We also lost one of our founding members, Alan Schwartzman, FAIA who left us in March. His memory will live on in the AIA Europe Scholarship and we are glad to carry on his legacy in this way. 

 The Board created a new committee for Emerging Professionals and elected Carrie Wilbert, Assoc. AIA to this important new position to engage in outreach to new young members.

 Amanda Bryant was our brilliant 2018 AIA Continental Europe Scholarship recipient and she gave us a great presentation at the Budapest conference.

 This year also marked the last term of Sandra Zettersten, AIA as treasurer after four years of dedicated service. The AIA Europe Board of Directors thanks Sandra for all her great work and welcomes member Ali Yapicioglu, AIA,
 to replace her in 2019.

 The chapter was also fortunate to be represented at numerous international events by Chapter President Carsten Hanssen, Int'l. Assoc. AIA, including Grassroots in San Diego, EE Global Conference in Copenhagen with 2018 National president Karl Elefante, A'18 Conference in New York City, and the AIA International Region Conference in Singapore. 

 We are pleased to announce here the 2019 AIA Europe Board of Directors:


Les Jordan, AIA, Vienna, Austria

First Vice President

Bard Rama, Int’l. Assoc. AIA, Bremen, Germany


Vice President

Stefan Bieri, Int’l. Assoc. AIA, Lucerne, Switzerland     



Jake Spruit, AIA, Copenhagen, Denmark



Ali Yapicioglu, AIA, Girne, North Cyprus


French Section Director

Alireza Razavi, AIA, Paris, France


Northern Europe Section Director

Ryan Wakat, Assoc. AIA, Copenhagen, Denmark


Switzerland Section Director

Bari Wetmore Salathe, AIA + Roland Busenhart, AIA, Schaffhausen, Switzerland


Southern Europe Section Director

Sophia Gruzdys, AIA, Barcelona, Spain


Eastern Europe Section Director

Alexis Sanaal, AIA, Istanbul, Turkey


Germany Section  Director

Eddie Johnson, AIA, Wiesbaden, Germany


Italy Section Director  

Royce Lanier, AIA, Montepulciano, Italy